SPIRIT ADRIFT – 20 Centuries Gone

Austin, Texas based doom-metal act SPIRIT ADRIFT release their 5th album – 20 Centuries Gone. The band started as a project by guitarist/songwriter Nathan Garrett over a decade ago. 20 Centuries Gone features 2 original tracks and 6 covers. The 2 new tracks lead off the disc, “Sorcerer’s Fate” is a good lead off rocker, with influences of Iron Maiden and Metallica, followed by “Mass Formation Psychosis”, which is a bit more dark, and a bit of more of a Sabbath or Black Label Society feel, but dig the guitar sound here. Of the others , I am not much of a fan of a few bands covered, but I do like the band’s take on Thin Lizzy’s “Waiting For An Alibi” and Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Poison Whiskey” – nicely done! The band’s own songs are the most interesting here, so interested in hearing more of the catalogue.

*for more info and see press release & tracklisting below…

Photo credit: Dave Creaney

SPIRIT ADRIFT expand their prolific catalogue with “20 Centuries Gone”, a collection of two new original songs and six cover songs that span the timeline of the band’s most foundational influences. Featuring artwork by Brian Mercer (Lamb of God, High on Fire, Mastodon), and mixed by Zeuss (Overkill, Crowbar, Municipal Waste), this release is a powerful journey through the past, present, and future of trad-metal’s most exciting new band.

Available on August 19th via Century Media, “20 Centuries Gone” sees SPIRIT ADRIFT put their trademark swagger on classics from Type O Negative, Pantera, Metallica, Thin Lizzy, ZZ Top and Lynyrd Skynyrd..

SPIRIT ADRIFT mastermind Nate Garrett comments: “I always thought it would be a cool experience to record some songs by bands that are foundational to the DNA of SPIRIT ADRIFT. These choices are obvious and on the nose to me, but maybe unexpected to the fans. That made the whole thing a lot of fun. A band like Lynyrd Skynyrd might not be the first thing you think of when considering SPIRIT ADRIFT’s influences, so the task for me became figuring out how to honor these great songs, but in the distinct SPIRIT ADRIFT style. To make the whole thing even more special, I channeled these influences and wrote a couple of new songs to kick things off.”

Regarding the band’s own track “Sorcerer’s Fate”,  Garret continues, “When I wrote this one, I was obsessing over the film director William Friedkin. I’ve been a fan of his since I saw ‘The Exorcist’ as a kid, but when I discovered the documentary ‘Leap of Faith’, it sparked a much deeper interest in the man and his process. I started watching as many of his interviews as I could find, and I read his autobiography which was just amazing. Friedkin’s life and art are inseparable. His human experience, search for higher truth, and borderline-psychotic level of obsession/perfectionism all coalesce into his artwork. I relate to that on a profound level. This song is about our search for purpose, and humanity’s struggle to understand ‘the mysteries of faith and fate.’  Musically, I would say it’s one of our heaviest and most straightforward songs. Inspired equally by New Orleans sludge, flipped-cap crossover, and Scandinavian metal, but with the distinct SPIRIT ADRIFT sound and approach.”

Track listing:
1.  Sorcerer’s Fate
2.  Mass Formation Psychosis
3.  Everything Dies (Type O Negative)
4.  Hollow (Pantera)
5.  Escape (Metallica)
6.  Waiting for an Alibi (Thin Lizzy)
7.  Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings (ZZ Top)
8.  Poison Whiskey (Lynyrd Skynyrd)

The band is currently on tour, check out their website for dates.

SPIRIT ADRIFT touring line-up:
Nate Garrett – guitar & vocals
Leanne Martz – guitar
Sonny DeCarlo – bass
Michael Arellano – drums







Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.