ALTZI – Debuts solo album, All Eyes On Me

Swedish singer Rick Altzi (aka Rickard Thornberg) has recorded with a number of bands, such as At Vance, Masterplan, Gathering of Kings, and Herman Frank. This being Altzi’s first solo project, and it’s a very good set hard-rock tunes, a bit o’ metal, a bit of AOR, with Altzi’s vocals being not too far off from fellow Masterplan alumni (and Norwegian) Jorn Lande.

Lots of AOR-type keyboard intros, followed by heavier guitar driven rockers. The first 4-5 tracks are worth checking out alone, before things lighten up a bit. But really, no real dodgy cuts here, tho’ I think most albums should end at 10 tracks (there’s 14 here, but oh well) . Favorites include “Point Of No Return”, “Run To You”, and “Tossin’ and Turnin'”. Lots of great guest guitarists doing solos , notably Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake), Oliver Hartmann (Avantasia), and Andy LaRocque (King Diamond),

Press Release:

RICK ALTZI is an artist from Helsingborg, Sweden who started to play bass at the age of 14. He was a member in various tribute and original bands until 2004 and switched over to the microphone in 2005. His first album as vocalist saw the light of day in the year   2007 with the band AT VANCE. Since then, he has worked with a lot of outstanding musicians from bands such as Helloween, Accept, King Diamond, Pain Of Salvation, etc.. In 2020, Rick Altzi started to work on his first solo album under the moniker of ALTZI. Rick Altzi also is writing and recording with the bands Masterplan, Gathering Of Kings and Herman Frank.

In 2021, ALTZI has released a couple of successful singles and videos from the brand new album “All Eyes On Me” in advance. The full album, which will be available on CD and digitally from March 25th, 2022, now contains 10 more new songs. 

Rick Altzi recorded all vocals in Outhouse Studios on the west coast of Sweden, Drums were recorded at Parental Studios in Cologne. The album is mixed by Victor Ohlsson in his studio located in Gothenburg and produced by Rick Altzi and Ulrick Lönnqvist. Thomas ”Plec” Johansson took care of the mastering at The Panic Room.

Track list: 1. Point Of No Return, 2. Crash and Fall, 3. Into The Fire, 4. Run to you, 5. Legacy, 6. You Don’t Believe In Love, 7. Strangers in the Real World, 8. Desire, 9. Hurting Kind, 10. Motherless Child, 11. Wind & the Rain, 12. Tossin’ and Turnin’, 13. Final Warning, 14. Where Dreams never Die 

Line-up: Rick Altzi – Lead and backing vocals, Pete Alpenborg – Guitars, Keyboards
Nalle Påhlsson – Bass guitar, Kevin Kott  – Drums
Ulrick Lönnqvist – Acoustic guitar, backing vocals
Victor Ohlsson – Additional guitars, backing vocals
Teresia Svensson – Backing vocals
Kimberly Kott – Backing vocals
Musicians on the song ”Into the Fire”
Rick Altzi – Vocals, Magnus Berglund – Guitars, Morgan Jensen Guitars, Ken Sandin – Bass guitar, Kevin Kott – Drums

Guest solo guitarists: Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake, Cher), Matthias IA Eklund (Freak kitchen), Per Nilsson (Meshuggah), Olaf Lenk (AtVance), Oliver Hartmann (Avantasia), Morgan Jensen (Swedish Erotica), Victor Ohlsson (Gathering of Kings, Saffire), Magnus Karlsson (Freefall), Andy LaRocque (King Diamond), Magnus Berglund (Arctic Rain), Stefan Lindholm (Vindictiv), Eric Rauti (Dreamland)

KJ, 02/’22

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.