URIAH HEEP – Announce 25th studio album Chaos & Colour, release new single

Uriah Heep have released the first single & video from their forthcoming 25th studio album – Chaos & Colour – to be released in January of the new year! Details, ordering links, track-listing below.

November 8, 2022 – British hard rock legends and progenitors Uriah Heep announce the release of their 25th studio album, Chaos & Colour, set for release January 27th, 2023 via Silver Lining Music. Pre-orders available from November 8th on this site https://lnk.to/ChaosandColour

“Save Me Tonight” is another powerful melodic rock track which we have chosen to be the first single as well as the opening track of the album,” says Mick Box, Uriah Heep’s venerable and effervescent founding member, “it is made for rock radio and will surely be included on our new set list in 2023.”

Chaos & Colour is an album which bristles with explosive classic rock guitars, supreme harmonies, and Heep’s famously generous keyboard foundation. It is, unsurprisingly, an album that found its extra thrust during the COVID-19 pandemic, which was as bizarre for Uriah Heep as it was for humanity in general. “The album title reflects that we were in chaotic times with being locked down, tours being cancelled, businesses folding, and all the chaos that was thrown into the world,” explains Box, “and as far as I could see it, the only colour people had was through music. It helped so many people get through those difficult years, using that strength and power which music has, to make those bad times not quite so bad.” There were still the looming spectre of protocols and rules to follow in the middle of 2021, as the world tried to find its feet. Heep slowly found their way into Chapel Studios in London during the summer of 2021 as restrictions were tentatively lifted, working once again with Jay Ruston (Anthrax, Corey Taylor, Black Star Riders). “Jay was completely on board with what we are trying to achieve in the studio,” says Box. “We’re a band that has a fantastic heritage and to carry on that tradition it was vitally important that the band recorded in the studio all playing at the same time. Jay understood that and he pulled out the best of us as a band, as well as individual players, while getting us some amazing sounds.” Led by Box, it is no surprise that themes of light, love and, ultimately, positivity are constant through the album eleven tracks. “One Nation, One Sun” is a journey of soaring balladic contemplation, “Fly Like An Eagle” takes the listener on a journey of meditation, whilst “Closer To Your Dreams” is a battle cry for all rockers to get out there and do it, with Shaw imploring that “So many have tried but slipped away/Now it’s time for you to have your say.” During the entire album, Bernie Shaw’s timeless vocals sit expertly beside the band’s phenomenal artistry (Mick Box – guitar, Phil Lanzon – keyboard, Russell Gilbrook – drums, Dave Rimmer – bass), rounding out exceptional performances throughout. Produced by Jay Ruston, and engineered by Pieter Rietkerk, Chaos & Colour is a superb album of quality hard rock from the pioneers of the genre who continue to create top class material. Old fans will be reinvigorated whilst new fans will surely find Chaos & Colour an exceptional discovery.

Following the intense disruption to live music caused by the pandemic, the band are ecstatic to be back on the road and continue to bring their live show across Europe this winter. For a full list of confirmed dates, tickets, and additional information visit this this location – http://www.uriah-heep.com/2020Site/Index.html

Tour Dates:

12 November – Nürnberg, Germany – Löwensaal*

14 November – Vilnius, Lithuania – Compensa Concert Hall

15 November – Tallinn, Estonia – Alexela Concert Hall

17 November – Helsinki, Finland – Helsinki Ice Hall

19 November – Turku, Finland – Konserttitalo

20 November – Oulu, Finland – Madetojan Sali

22 November – Umeå, Sweden – Idun

23 November – Stockholm, Sweden – Göta Lejon

24 November – Oslo, Norway – Sentrum Scene

26 November – Kristiansand, Norway – Kilden Performing Arts Centre

27 November – Stavanger, Norway – Stavanger Kuppelhallen

28 November – Bergen, Norway – USF Verftet

29 November – Trondheim, Norway – Olavshallen

1 December – Sundsvall, Sweden – Tonhallen

2 December – Gothenburg, Sweden – Gothenburg Studios

3 December – Randers, Denmark – Vaerket Teatre & Musikhus

4 December – Copenhagen, Denmark – Docken Koncerter

5 December – Malmö, Sweden – Slagthuset Teater

7 December – Stuttgart, Germany – Liederhalle*

8 December – Dresden, Germany – Culture Palace*

9 December – Suhl, Germany – Congress Centrum Suhl*

10 December – Prague, Czech Republic – Forum Karlin

11 December – Budapest, Hungary – Hungexpo Hall C

13 December – Sofia, Bulgaria – National Palace of Culture, Hall 1

14 December – Thessaloníki, Greece*

15 December – Athens, Greece* (*Celebrating 50 years of Uriah Heep)

Chaos & Colour will be available to pre-order from November 8, in Black and Coloured Vinyl configurations, as a standard CD Digipak, a Deluxe CD packaged in a hardcover book with Uriah Heep’s Chaos & Colour signature patch and in digital formats.

“Save Me Tonight” is the first single from the upcoming album Chaos & Colour. Available to pre-order from November 9th here: https://lnk.to/ChaosandColour, Out via Silver Lining Music on January 27th, 2023.

Music video by Natalia Jonderko Śmiechowicz – N.STATION Animation & Design Studio.

The buoyant, blistering single “Save Me Tonight”, feels at once like a cry for lost love and an expression of COVID era pain. “I think that’s the beauty of a good lyric,” smiles founding member Mick Box. “A good lyric means that you can interpret it in many ways, and it’s so important to me when writing a lyric that it has those avenues to go in.” enthuses Box.

The single was written by bass guitarist Dave Rimmer and Jeff Scott Soto, who has been the vocalist for the likes of Journey and Yngwie Malmsteen. “’Save Me Tonight’ comes from a place of frustration and helplessness living through these unprecedented past couple of years but hanging on to this raging hope that we would all meet again! Once again, collaborating with Jeff Scott Soto has been a natural and very creative experience and the perfect platform for me to express these feelings and to carry on the Heep legacy.” Rimmer comments.

Chaos & Colour Track List:

Save Me Tonight / Silver Sunlight / Hail The Sunrise / Age Of Changes* / Hurricane / One Nation, One Sun / Golden Light / You’ll Never Be Alone / Fly Like An Eagle / Freedom To Be Free / Closer To Your Dreams* / Save Me Tonight (demo)**

*CD and Digital only

**Deluxe CD only


Mick Box – Lead Guitar / Vocals

Phil Lanzon – Keyboards / Vocals

Bernie Shaw – Lead Vocals

Dave Rimmer – Bass Guitar / Vocals

Russell Gilbrook – Drums & Percussion

Produced by Jay Ruston

Engineered by Pieter Rietkerk

Recorded at Chapel Studios, UK

Mixed by Jay Ruston at TRS West, Sherman Oaks, California

Additional Engineering by John Douglas

Mastered by Paul Logus

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.